About Biochemistry, MUSC

        Since its establishment in 1964 with the main support from the University Development Program of the Rockefeller Foundation, our Department has been recognized as a country’s leading institution in both teaching and research in biochemistry and molecular biology. The professional leadership of Professor James S. Dinning and Professor James A. Olson during the initial establishment of the Department has laid a strong foundation and marked the internationalization and excellence of today’s teaching and research activities.

During the past five decades, the Department has gone from strength to strength and has contributed productively towards graduate training and high-quality research. A number of alumni have made successful academic careers; some are currently assuming key positions in local and/or international professional societies and playing important roles in promoting training and research activities of the Department. Since its establishment, the Department has seen the graduation of over 100 Ph.D. and 400 M.Sc. students.

The Department of Biochemistry is located on the 3rd floor of Pr, B and R-buildings and occupies approximately 3,000 m2 of laboratory space. Some of our staff’s laboratories are located at the Center for Protein and Enzyme Technology, the Center of Excellence for Shrimp Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, and the Center for Neuroscience in Chalermphrakiet Building.


History of the Department :


Past Chairpersons
1. Prof. James S. Dinning
2. Prof. James A. Olson
3. Prof. Serene Piboonniyom
4. Prof. Montri Chulavatanatol
5. Prof. M.R. Jisnuson Svasti
6. Prof. Sakol Panyim
7. Prof. Prapon Wilairat
8. Prof. Vichai Boonsaeng
9. Assoc. Prof. Bhinyo Panijpan
10. Assoc. Prof. Prayad Komaratat
11. Prof. Prapon Wilairat
12. Prof. Sumalee Tungpradapkul
13. Prof. Mathurose Ponglikitmongkol
14. Prof. Pimchai Chaiyen
15. Prof. Sarawut Jitrapakdee
Jirundon_Y Staff_TK
16. Assoc. Prof. Jirundon Yuvaniyama
17. Assoc. Prof. Thaned Kangsamaksin


update: 16-Sep-2020